Blog Archives

Board of Education honors Class of 2015 at the Salute to Excellence

This afternoon, the Board of Education honored dozens graduating high school students for their incredible academic achievements at a reception in the Metro Schools Board room. Students from nearly every high school were there to accept awards and receive congratulations from Board representatives and other district leaders.

“This is one of our favorite events all year, and we feel privileged to have the opportunity to honor these young people who are working so hard to achieve their dreams,” said Board of Education Chair Dr. Sharon Gentry. “Every Metro Schools graduate has a lot to be proud of, and we look forward to congratulating them at graduation ceremonies over the next two weeks.”

Students honored at the event include valedictorians, salutatorians and National Merit Scholars, as well as one student with 13 straight years of perfect attendance, from kindergarten through graduation.

See a complete list of the students honored at the Salute to Excellence.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Graduation ceremonies start tonight with Nashville Big Picture High School students receiving diplomas at 6:00 p.m. at Mt. Zion Baptist Church in Whites Creek. In all, 26 ceremonies will take place May 12-26. The last day of school for students is Wednesday, May 27.

See a complete schedule of graduation ceremonies including dates, times and locations.

Saluting Excellence: Celebrate all Metro Schools graduates, valedictorians and salutatorians

With less than a week to go until graduation ceremonies begin, students, families and teachers across Nashville are preparing to celebrate the outstanding achievements of every Metro Schools graduate. There will be 26 ceremonies held in arenas, school auditoriums, college campuses and even the Grand Ole Opry house in a two-week period, April 12-26.

IMPORTANT: Due to forecasted rain, Stratford STEM Magnet High School has moved its graduation to the TSU Gentry Center.
See the full graduation schedule with dates, times and locations for each school.

In addition to the honor of receiving a high school diploma, most schools will also honor the top performing students of each graduating class. The 2015 Valedictorians and Salutatorians are:

School Valedictorian Salutatorian
Antioch High School Nardeen Samih Fayik Dina M. Mikaiel
Cane Ridge High School Merna Auype El Sols Marina Ramzy
East Nashville Magnet School Jostyn Hodges Katherine Climaco Benitez
Glencliff High School Elizabeth Narvaez-Vega Abdel Kareem Moadi
Hillsboro High School Alex Jolly Leah Daniel
Hillwood High School Heaven Anhalt Kenan Sakic
Hume-Fogg Magnet High School Kathryn Elizabeth Pickrell Madison Leigh Cuthbertson
Hunters Lane High School Kallen Shea Donaghey Virginia Cruz Victorio
LEAD Academy High School Antonio Onwu Victoria Stafford
Maplewood High School David Medina Jevonna Nicole Holbert
Martin Luther King, Jr. Magnet School Bushra Rahman Camron Shirkhodaie
McGavock High School Christopher Harris Taylor III Allison Paige Woomer
MNPS Middle College High School Naba Saleh Al-Akashi Eva Maria Thomason
MNPS Virtual School Madeline Ruth Milam Murphy Lexie Amber Nance
Nashville Big Picture High School DeWanna Andrea Williams DiKaysia M. Buchanan
Nashville School of the Arts Sophia Regina Allison &Allison Morgan Ullein Jenise Krisstarrah Williams
Overton High School Catherine Elizabeth English Maylan Daniel Mehus
Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School Darryl Lamont Harris, Jr. Adrian Jaques Prather
Stratford STEM Magnet High School Nazje Tanae Mansfield Hong Sheng Shi
Whites Creek High School Joanna Brooke Yant Adriana Nichole Buchanan

Next week, the Board of Education will honor these students, as well as those who have earned even more academic distinctions this year, at the annual Salute to Excellence. Student achievements include perfect scores on the ACT, National Merit Scholarship Finalists and even one student with 13 years of perfect attendance, kindergarten through graduation.

Salute to Excellence
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 4:00 p.m.
Metro Schools’ Board Room
2601 Bransford Avenue, 37204

Saluting Excellence: Valedictorians, Salutatorians and Perfect Attendance

After a year of hard work – make that very hard work – we’re almost to the finish line. Graduation will soon be upon us (take look at the schedule right here), and high schools have crowned their 2014 Valedictorians and Salutatorians.

At Tuesday’s Board meeting, Dr. Register and the Board honored those students at the annual Salute to Excellence. Take a look:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In addition to the class leaders, the Board also honored Donnomeachi Brittain, who hasn’t missed a day of school since kindergarten. That’s right: perfect attendance for 13 years straight. What an amazing accomplishment!

The 2014 Valedictorians and Salutatorians are:

Vedron Vujic Antioch High School Valedictorian
Clayton Thomas Antioch High School Salutatorian
Monica Eshak Cane Ridge High School Valedictorian
Nicole Webb Cane Ridge High School Salutatorian
Hector Guillen East Nashville Magnet School Valedictorian
Jihan Eli East Nashville Magnet School Salutatorian
Maria Araujo Glencliff High School Valedictorian
Madlain Atia Glencliff High School Salutatorian
Emma Kingsbury Hillsboro High School Valedictorian
Mason Freeman Hillsboro High School Salutatorian
Yaswin Telwar Hillwood High School Valedictorian
Su Kang Hillwood High School Salutatorian
Qiaozhi Guo Hume-Fogg Magnet High School Valedictorian
Tiannan Zhou Hume-Fogg Magnet High School Salutatorian
Karla Robles Hunters Lane High School Valedictorian
Joselito Ramirez Hunters Lane High School Salutatorian
Toya Jordan Maplewood High School Valedictorian
Manuel Colon Maplewood High School Salutatorian
Janie Liu Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School Valedictorian
Eric Jiang Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School Salutatorian
Gregory Gilbert McGavock High School Valedictorian
Colleen Cochran McGavock High School Salutatorian
Megan Goolsby MNPS Middle College High School Valedictorian
Tianna Ewing MNPS Middle College High School Salutatorian
Madison Kosak MNPS Virtual School Valedictorian
Tessa Sanders MNPS Virtual School Salutatorian
Kaleb Briggs Nashville Big Picture High School Valedictorian
Monica Moran Nashville Big Picture High School Salutatorian
Rachel Holloway Nashville School of the Arts Valedictorian
Benjamin Parks Nashville School of the Arts Salutatorian
Ruth Steele John Overton High School Valedictorian
Benjamin Demonbreun John Overton High School Salutatorian
Angela Wesson Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School Valedictorian
Myia Wright Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School Salutatorian
Tauniasha Boleyjack Stratford STEM Magnet High School Valedictorian
Ashley Raines Stratford STEM Magnet High School Salutatorian
Simone Williams Whites Creek High School Valedictorian
Heta Patel Whites Creek High School Salutatorian


%d bloggers like this: