Pearl-Cohn, Hillwood & NSA bring home “Student Emmys”

The results are in!

Nine Metro high schoolers have won “Student Emmys” (officially called Student Television Production Awards) from the Nashville Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

In a ceremony held yesterday, students from Pearl-Cohn and Nashville School of the Arts took home prizes for:

Teen Moms, Hillwood High School, Marieka Adams, Anton Arnold, Advisor: Coby Ginsberg

Firebird Sports, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School – Gerald Harris, Lamontez Pannell, Jeremy Ward, Travez Hudson, LaQuntay Reid, Mario Rosales, Deonte’ Jones, Advisor: Anthony Young

Mitt Romney vs. PBS, Studio 21 @ Nashville School of the Arts – Stanley Karr, Advisor: John Newsom

Brad & Aaron’s Talent, Ravenwood High School – Aaron Mirtes, Brad Belemjian, Advisor: Laura Faber
Gerald Harris Talent, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School – Gerald Harris, Advisor: Anthony Young

Twelve Metro students were nominated and invited to the awards ceremony. Just before receiving their awards, the students got a little career advice from some of the top news professionals in Nashville.

From the Nashville Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:

The Nashville/Midsouth Chapter announces the winners for the 11th Midsouth Student Television Production Award, honoring high school productions. In one of the most successful programs in the country, the chapter received more than 150 entries. Those entries were judged on the same criteria as the professional Emmy® Awards – content, creativity and execution. The work is performed by students who are currently enrolled in high school with faculty involvement being advisory.

The Student Awards were presented in a ceremony at Watkins College of Art, Design & Film. The event began with a panel discussion, “Plotting Your Career in Television News”, moderated by Phillip L. Bell of Bellmedia. The panelists were Sandy Boonstra, News Director at WTVF NewsChannel 5 Network; Matthew Hilk, News Director at WSMV, Bryan McGruder, News Director at WZTV Fox 17, and Matthew Zelkind, News Director at WKRN. Lunch, sponsored by Maggiano’s Little Italy will follow the panel discussion.

The awards ceremonywas hosted by NewsChannel 5’s Lelan Statom, Meteorologist and host of “Talk of the Town”. The presenters included David Bennett, Altura Productions; John Hussey, P-K Pictures; Demetria Kalodimos, WSMV; Bob Kohl, The Nashville Predators, Lisa Patton, WKRN, and Ellen Pryor, The Frist Center for the Visual Arts.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in News, Students and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: